Assisted Dying or Euthanasia


I watched this Terry Pratchett documentary today (Choosing to Die):

It set me thinking about aging and getting old and god forbid, afflicted with a disease. It is a glum thought.

Switzerland and Belgium have legalized euthanasia. The documentary shows a couple live which has decided to go for assisted dying. It is terrible to see. It is tragic. Yet, at the same time, I can imagine the dread of a life in which you are nothing like yourself, where you are dependent on everyone but yourself. It is a very confusing topic – legally and emotionally.

I cannot imagine, how must the doctor reconcile with himself/herself in having assisted a person to die.

I wonder, if it comes to that, what would my choice be?

Leave a Reply

