Thus ends Australian Open


I am a huge fan of tennis. I simply love watching it!

2011 season has already started and one of the Grand Slams has already ended- The Australian Open. It is the one with high temperatures and blue court and squeaky noises coming from the shoes. It is also very very unpredictable. Upsets happen here more than anywhere else. This year, it was even more true – for Men as well as Women. Rafa and Roger were sent off in Quarter Finals and Semi Finals respectively. The final contest was held between World Number 3 and 4 ( not technically, but in every other way). The better player prevailed – Novak Djokovic over Andy Murray.

I feel for Murray. I truly do. I can see how much pressure he has on his shoulders but I can also see the inspiration which Novak derives. He has grown phenomenally in the past three years and most of it during the past year. He has polished his game and he has polished his wisdom. Now, he is an inspired and wise player at the same time. Since US Open 2010, he has been in incredible form and it is fitting that he starts 2011 with a victory in hand. I am a great great RAFA fan. Almost a fanatic but if there is anyone else I will support other than him – Its Novak. That guy is just so emotionally charged that it makes him much more human than all the other top players. I can appreciate them all but with Djokovic – I can relate. I feel glad for him.

With the end of Australian Open 2011, I find myself peering through a great hole in my entertainment and inspiration feeds. What am I going to watch now and discuss? What will now divert my attention from the increasingly mundane ways of my life otherwise? What will make my adrenaline rush and push me towards excitement? What is it going to be ?

The next Grand Slam is only in April and it will start a new season.

Damn! I now need to find new escapades.!

So Long! I enjoyed it a lot. Thank you very much!

2 thoughts on “Thus ends Australian Open

    • Indeed he seems invincible – winning two Master’s tournaments post his Aus Open win…..Me too eagerly waiting for the red clay!

Leave a Reply

