Hola!


So, I read this book called “Standing Alone in Mecca” by Asra Q. Nomani. It is about her visit to Mecca & Medina for Haj. It is also about her struggle to gain equality for women or some traces of inside mosques of Pennsylvania. The book is interesting to read. I enjoyed it. She is a reporter and the book is kind of like a report. It does not touch me at a level at which Khaled Hosseini’s books do but it made the point well.

After that I started with “Steppenwolf”. It is made up of heavy philosophical stuff and is not as breezy as any fictional work. However, there is much in it which I can relate to. The entirely different personalities within oneself and the things which set a person apart from bourgeoisie. I can see the “German”ness in Hesse’s writing. But it looks like a compelling book. He is much influenced by Indian Philosophy and I like that!

Next on is : “The Music Room” by Namita Devidayal. I always want to read world class books by Indian writers. Let’s see how this will stand up to those standards.

Speaking of books by Indian writers, I read “Immortals of Meluha” by Amish Tripathi. It is work in fantasy about the life and times of Shiva, the third God of the tripartite: Brahma, Vishnu and Mahesh. How Shiva became a God from being a mere tribal and how he rose to become the destroyer of evil. The concept is brilliant. The novel itself could have been written better and in much detail but the effort itself is worth applauding. A modern book on Indian Mythology was long overdue and I am very happy, as are all Indian readers, that someone started down that road. On top of that, doing it with a character like Shiva, who is so less written about and whose characterization provides such a wide canvas for painting emotions, human and godly, is a treat for readers.

I am looking forward to read the next installments.

While reading the book, I very strongly felt that it should have been a comic strip (in the sense of being a visual graphic novel) and I hope someone does that. It will make a great series.

Thats about all the book reading I have done in a while!

So many books lie unread and untouched that I have started to become haunted by them now. Need to increase the reading and writing too. I find myself unable to form beautiful long/short sentences or paragraphs now. It’s a shame because I thought I would never stop writing – however insipid.

Guess its time to come back and start the rigour!

 

Leave a Reply

